Diddakoi Walt Whitman
Take me home...St EmilionHey, what's a Diddakoi??Cast of CharactersThe Saga Continues...  kay@diddakoi.com

Updated: 05/25/03

Other places to visit

The Bleat
Iron Chef
Rinkus Design
Spaceflight Now
Japanese Engrish
Eric Conveys an Emotion
Free The Grapes
Tim Blair's Blog

I give up - what's a Diddakoi?

A Diddakoi is a Gypsy outside the Romany tribes and of mixed blood. It is also the name of a book by Rumer Godden about a young Gypsy girl.

Allright, that was the easy answer.

My name is Kay and I live in Philadelphia, PA. I am a Reinsurance Broker, which means that my clients are insurance companies and my job is to help them transfer some of their risk to other companies. I currently live in a condo on a converted Municipal Pier on the Delaware River in Center City Philadelphia, but a couple of years ago I began a renovation of a warehouse in the Northern Liberties section of the city. It. . . is . . . coming . . . along. Please see The HOUSE section for plans, photos, etc.

Random Factoids:

  • I am an only child.
  • My parents are two of the finest people I have ever met.
  • I have a great family on both sides - wonderful aunts, uncles and cousins.
  • I was born and raised in Southern California. ? OK, Los Angeles. ? Well, Orange County. ? City of Orange. Right near Disneyland. "Ahhhh..."
  • And yes, I worked at The Magic Kingdom in High School and College. No, I wasn't Mickey Mouse. I was a Culinary Hostess at the Tomorrowland Terrace. I wish I had a picture of the costumes we had to wear - ouch.
  • I was/still am horse crazy! My parents gave me a horse for my 15th birthday, and although I currently don't have one, I'm sure that at some point in my life I shall have one again.
  • My current equine hunger is satisfied with a collection of Hagen Renaker model horses.
  • I went to college at California State Polytechnic University, Pomona (Cal Poly) to become a veterinarian.
  • I ended up with a BS in Agricultural Business Management, and an MBA in International Marketing.
  • After Graduate School I moved to Philadelphia. Why? I was kidnapped, drugged and put on an airplane against my will. At least that's my story and I'm sticking to it.
  • I am owned by a cat named Suki who loves me, and a bunch of Koi that live in mortal fear of me. I guess that balances out.
  • I have not owned a car for over twelve years.
  • I travel quite a bit for my job, and I think nothing of going halfway around the world for my holidays.
  • Winter and I do NOT get along. I am definitely a warm weather person
  • I enjoy scuba diving, bicycling, inline skating, cooking, good wine, photography, gardening, reading, writing, but no arithmetic.
  • I am one of the most fortunate people I know. I have an interesting job that is challenging and lets me work with some great people, I live in a city that I enjoy (aside from that winter thing), and I am blessed with a wonderful family and terrific friends who care about me and make my life so fulfilling.

I hope that you enjoy the site. Feedback? Fire away!